I Wrote That One, Too . . .

A Life in Songwriting from Willie to Whitney

Author: Steve Dorff

Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 889

(Book). One of the most successful songwriters and composers of the last 25 years, Steve Dorff has penned over 20 Top 10 hits for pop and country artists around the world, including Barbra Streisand, Celine Dion, Blake Shelton, Smokey Robinson, Kenny Rogers, Ray Charles, Anne Murray, Whitney Houston, George Strait, Dolly Parton, Judy Collins, Cher, Dusty Springfield, Ringo Starr, and Garth Brooks. He has scored for television shows, including Growing Pains , Major Dad , Murder She Wrote , Reba , and several films, including Any Which Way but Loose for which he penned the titular song, and more recently, he has embarked on Broadway (forthcoming musical Josephine ). Chronicling his four decades behind the music, Steve Dorff gives anecdotes, advice, and insights into his journey. The book follows Steve from his childhood in Queens to Manhattan to Nashville and to his eventual arrival in Los Angeles, California. Oftentimes, songs are attributed to the singers who perform them, but it is the songwriter who really knows the story behind the story from conception to execution. Full of heartfelt stories, hard-earned wisdom, and delightful wit, I Wrote That One, Too . . . is a great read for musicians, music fans, and whoever has chased their dreams and survived the surprising but often serendipitous turns in the road.

Dear Zoe || Love Dad: Our Journey through IVF to the NICU to your 1st Birthday

Author: Ryan Richardson

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fertilization in vitro, Human

Page: 386

View: 683

I began writing to my unborn child as soon as my wife and I decided to have a child. Never could I have imagined what an amazing journey was set in motion. These intensely personal letters capture my hopes and fears as my wife and I progress through the various stages of IVF, our daughter's stay in the NICU, and our first year as a family. From giving my wife daily shots to staring at the various screens monitoring my newborn daughter, the book attempts to capture the emotions of a loving husband and father trying to be the man both his girls need. The book concludes with my honest, unadulterated reflections on having going through IVF and the NICU. My hope is that my candid sharing may help others gain a greater sense of the emotions involved in having an IVF or NICU baby.

God Spoke, I Wrote

Author: Marlene Scott

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 204

View: 738

It was at this new church, Lakeside Outreach Ministries that my life really took a turn. I had so many times since my son passed, kept asking God the question, “why”? I found my answer here. I met so many wonderful people who had so much pain and grief and illnesses in their lives, but, they never lost their faith in God. I began to write about my Pastor, Pastor Kenny Griffin and his church and his people, and when I did, I seen their pain, I felt their suffering. I cannot explain, but, people, even strangers began asking me to write about their loved one who had departed, and then come back to tell me how much the poem had meant to them. This had become my calling, this is what God wanted me to do, and as it became more and more widespread, my involvement with Jesus became more and more, the words were coming so fast, the insight I was seeing, only God knew what was happening to me. I would be nothing, nor would there be any written poetry without God, for when I sit down to write, I say a prayer to God, saying, “God, please give me the words to write, and He always would. That is why I call my book of poetry, GOD SPOKE/I WROTE.

Note from Your Teacher (eBook)

Author: Kimberly Colen

Publisher: Lorenz Educational Press

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 240

View: 989

More than 450 messages to help you communicate effectively with students, parents and administrators. Outstanding NEW messages for report cards and assessments, also requests, invitations, thank-yous, notes of encouragement, letters about discipline and much more!

How I Made One Million Dollars and Why I Gave it All Away

Author: A. Kastra

Publisher: Booktango

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page:

View: 796

In this book you will discover not only what you need to know and do to make your first million, but also what I did to earn it and what compelled me to give every penny of it away. That is what you will get out of this, but what about me? Well, I am in hopes that not only will you turn your life around and be financially stable but you may also help out others in your community to do the same. My ultimate dream would be to wipe out poverty for good.

One Art

Letters

Author: Elizabeth Bishop

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 725

View: 721

Robert Lowell once remarked, "When Elizabeth Bishop's letters are published (as they will be), she will be recognized as not only one of the best, but one of the most prolific writers of our century." One Art is the magificent confirmation of Lowell's prediction. From several thousand letters, written by Bishop over fifty years—from 1928, when she was seventeen, to the day of her death, in Boston in 1979—Robert Giroux, the poet's longtime friend and editor, has selected over five hundred missives for this volume. In a way, the letters comprise Bishop's autobiography, and Giroux has greatly enhanced them with his own detailed, candid, and highly informative introduction. One Art takes us behind Bishop's formal sophistication and reserve, fully displaying the gift for friendship, the striving for perfection, and the passionate, questing, rigorous spirit that made her a great artist.

Proud of What I Was — a Soldier

Author: Richard Dan Hill

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 386

View: 116

Anyone who ever served in the military can tell a similar story. The circumstances change and the names are different, but when you deal with young soldiers anything is probable. Hill tells the reader about many of these young men and women in some very funny situations. He also details what it is like to be the commander of a unit with 200 or more of these soldiers, in peacetime and in war. In telling the story of his long and varied career, he offers some real leadership gems that carry over to industry. As one observer quipped, every Lieutenant should read this book before spending a day with troops; he will either resign his commission or stay in the military until they kick him out. The author refers to the family members of military members as the real heroes in the military. You will gain a whole new appreciation of what it is like to be an Army spouse. Hill and his wife, Carla, moved 16 times during his 24 year career. Once children came along, it meant new adventures, along with new schools and new friends. The term Army Brat is worn with pride, but it is a title that is hard earned. One knows that military families are nomads, but the author explains how assignments happen and the consequences of decisions on careers and promotion. He tells the reader about dealing with the ubiquitous assignment offi cer. The citizen who has never been around the military will learn a great deal about the inner workings of the career Army Officer and those who support them. You will laugh out loud at some of these tales and cry when you learn about the sacrifices these soldiers and the families make. You will swell with pride when you hear how some of these men respond from unspeakable adversity. Hill is unabashedly proud of all veterans and as the title states, he is proud of his many years of serviceHe is Proud of What he wasA soldier.

Mary Poppins, She Wrote

The Life of P. L. Travers

Author: Valerie Lawson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 416

View: 612

The remarkable life of P.L. Travers, the creator of Mary Poppins. An arresting life…Lawson is superb at excavating the details. –Library Journal The spellbinding stories of Mary Poppins, the quintessentially English and utterly magical nanny, have been loved by generations. She flew into the lives of the unsuspecting Banks family in a children’s book that was instantly hailed as a classic, then became a household name when Julie Andrews stepped into the title role in Walt Disney’s hugely successful and equally classic film. But the Mary Poppins in the stories was not the cheery film character. She was tart and sharp, plain and vain. She was a remarkable character. The story of Mary Poppins’ creator, as this definitive biography reveals, is equally remarkable. The fabulous English nanny was actually conceived by an Australian, Pamela Lyndon Travers, who came to London in 1924 from Queensland as a journalist. She became involved with Theosophy, traveled in the literary circles of W.B. Yeats and T.S. Eliot, and became a disciple of the famed spiritual guru, Gurdjieff. She famously clashed with Walt Disney over the adaptation of the Mary Poppins books into film. Travers, whom Disney accused of vanity for “thinking you know more about Mary Poppins than I do,” was as tart and opinionated as Julie Andrews’s big-screen Mary Poppins was cheery. Yet it was a love of mysticism and magic that shaped Travers’s life as well as the character of Mary Poppins. The clipped, strict, and ultimately mysterious nanny who emerged from her pen was the creation of someone who remained inscrutable and enigmatic to the end of her ninety-six years. Valerie Lawson’s illuminating biography provides the first full look whose personal journey is as intriguing as her beloved characters.

Poems I Wrote When No One Was Looking

Author: Alan Katz

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 160

View: 690

Bestselling author Alan Katz, of Silly Dilly fame, knows kid humor, and he knows just what subjects are funniest—from school to siblings to sports, this assortment of spirited poetry has something for everyone. In the tradition of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, with black-and-white illustrations throughout, this collection of more than 100 poems will have kids roaring with laughter!