How Reading Changed My Life

Author: Anna Quindlen

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 96

View: 992

THE LIBRARY OF CONTEMPORARY THOUGHT is a groundbreaking series where America's finest writers and most brilliant minds tackle today's most provocative, fascinating, and relevant issues. Striking and daring, creative and important, these original voices on matters political, social, economic, and cultural, will enlighten, comfort, entertain, enrage, and ignite healthy debate across the country. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Reading Changed My Life!

Three True Stories

Author: Beth Johnson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English language

Page: 98

View: 585

One of the titles in the Townsend Library.

Reading Women

How the Great Books of Feminism Changed My Life

Author: Stephanie Staal

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 212

When Stephanie Staal first read The Feminine Mystique in college, she found it “a mildly interesting relic from another era.” But more than a decade later, as a married stay-at-home mom in the suburbs, Staal rediscovered Betty Friedan's classic work—and was surprised how much she identified with the laments and misgivings of 1950s housewives. She set out on a quest: to reenroll at Barnard and re-read the great books she had first encountered as an undergrad. From the banishment of Eve to Judith Butler's Gender Trouble, Staal explores the significance of each of these classic tales by and of women, highlighting the relevance these ideas still have today. This process leads Staal to find the self she thought she had lost—curious and ambitious, zany and critical—and inspires new understandings of her relationships with her husband, her mother, and her daughter.

Popular Contemporary Writers

Author: Michael D. Sharp

Publisher: Marshall Cavendish

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 11

View: 362

Ninety-six alphabetically arranged author profiles include biographical information, critical commentary, and illustrations.

Bring on the Books for Everybody

How Literary Culture Became Popular Culture

Author: Jim Collins

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 287

View: 638

Bring on the Books for Everybody is an engaging assessment of the robust popular literary culture that has developed in the United States during the past two decades. Jim Collins describes how a once solitary and print-based experience has become an exuberantly social activity, enjoyed as much on the screen as on the page. Fueled by Oprah’s Book Club, Miramax film adaptations, superstore bookshops, and new technologies such as the Kindle digital reader, literary fiction has been transformed into best-selling, high-concept entertainment. Collins highlights the infrastructural and cultural changes that have given rise to a flourishing reading public at a time when the future of the book has been called into question. Book reading, he claims, has not become obsolete; it has become integrated into popular visual media. Collins explores how digital technologies and the convergence of literary, visual, and consumer cultures have changed what counts as a “literary experience” in phenomena ranging from lush film adaptations such as The English Patient and Shakespeare in Love to the customer communities at Amazon. Central to Collins’s analysis and, he argues, to contemporary literary culture, is the notion that refined taste is now easily acquired; it is just a matter of knowing where to access it and whose advice to trust. Using recent novels, he shows that the redefined literary landscape has affected not just how books are being read, but also what sort of novels are being written for these passionate readers. Collins connects literary bestsellers from The Jane Austen Book Club and Literacy and Longing in L.A. to Saturday and The Line of Beauty, highlighting their depictions of fictional worlds filled with avid readers and their equations of reading with cultivated consumer taste.

The Pleasures of Reading: A Booklover's Alphabet

Author: Catherine Sheldrick Ross

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 270

View: 774

Based on years of ground-breaking research, this book supplies a look at the unique relationship between each text and the individual reader that results in a satisfying, pleasurable, and even life-changing reading experience. • Supplies succinct, authoritative, and readable accounts on a wide range of genre literature and explains why these types of books appeal to readers • Promotes the librarian's role with readers and helps librarians design readers' advisory services to better serve readers • Offers valuable insights into readers and reading based on reading research • Includes an extensive bibliography and list of relevant titles for further reading • Provides a fascinating read for librarians, educators, and avid readers

The List That Changed My Life

the uplifting page-turner that will make you weep with laughter

Author: Olivia Beirne

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 583

Sometimes all you need is a little push... 'One of the most hilarious books I have read for a very long time. Olivia writes with great warmth and wit - a fantastically funny debut.' Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Katie Marsh and Marian Keyes, Olivia Beirne's The List That Changed My Life takes its readers on an hilarious and heart-warming journey of a lifetime, showing us what it means to really be alive. Georgia loves wine, reality TV and sitting on the sofa after work. She does not love heights, looking at her bank account, going on dates, or activities that involve a sports bra. And she will never, ever take a risk. That is, until her braver, bolder, big sister finds out that she won't be able to tick off the things she wanted to do before turning thirty, and turns to Georgia to help her finish her list. With the birthday just months away, Georgia suddenly has a deadline to learn to grab life with both hands. Could she be brave enough to take the leap, for her sister? And how might her own life change if she did? Readers LOVE The List That Changed My Life... 'What an absolutely fabulous debut novel!' 'This book came into my kindle at just the right time... This book is a feel good, funny, happy, romantic, lovely story. That reaches through the pages, envelopes you in a big warm hug and leaves you smiling from ear to ear. I can't wait to read more from this author in the future.' 'An inspiring read' 'The story is very much a mix of romance and sisterly love and how far you would go for the ones you love. At times it does get really emotional and I would have to stop to wipe away the tears but I would happily shed them all over again as it was such a great read.' 'I loved Georgia and what I loved even more was the relationship that she and her sister Amy have. If anything I was so envious. These two have got a great bond though at times it is pushed to the limits.' 'The list of things that Amy gives her sister to do, I have to admit there wasn't many that I would have wanted to do. Not that Georgia does either for that matter. The majority of them make for fun reading though as she works her way through them' 'A heart-warming story of love, family and friendship showing how just how far you would actually go for people you love and care for... a beautiful read that leaves you thinking about it for some time after' Stardust Book Reviews 'Olivia Beirne is so talented to create such fabulous characters that you want to know and be friends with. It's a book about living life to the full, right now while you can as you never know what the future may hold. It was a proper feel-good, heart-warming, very natural and relatable story which I thoroughly enjoyed reading.' Kim Nash (kimthebookworm) "A gorgeous life-affirming read that will make you laugh and cry" Hayley's Book Blog

Being Perfect

Author: Anna Quindlen

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 64

View: 975

A few times in your life, someone will tell you something so right, so deeply true that it changes you forever. That is what Anna Quindlen, author of the timeless bestseller A Short Guide to a Happy Life, does here. In Being Perfect, she shares wisdom that, perhaps without knowing it, you have longed to hear: about “the perfection trap,” the price you pay when you become ensnared in it, and the key to setting yourself free. Quindlen believes that when your success looks good to the world but doesn’t feel good in your heart, it isn’t success at all. She asks you to set aside your friends’ advice, what your family and co-workers demand, and what society expects, and look at the choices you make every day. When you ask yourself why you are making them, Quindlen encourages you to give this answer: For me. “Because they are what I want, or wish for. Because they reflect who and what I am. . . . That way lies dancing to the melodies spun out by your own heart.” At the core of this beautiful book lies the secret of authentic success, the inspiration to embrace your own uniqueness and live the life that is undeniably your own, rich in fulfillment and meaning. From the Hardcover edition.

How Winning the Lottery Changed My Life

Windfall: A Blessing or a Curse?

Author: Sandra Hayes

Publisher: Author House

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 52

View: 738

What if you suddenly acquired a windfall of money and maybe a little fame? How would it change your life? This is my story, a true story of how my life changed since winning the lottery in April 2006. It includes the controversial reality show Million Dollar Christmas, which aired December 2007. That reality show featured four out of the thirteen lottery winners (we were dubbed the Lucky 13), who consented to being filmed for a reality show. The show was about our lives as we prepared for our first Christmas as millionaires. Out of the four stories, my story was the most talked about throughout the country. I received both positive and negative feedback from people across the United States. My story in this book includes the love I received, the hate, the hopes, and regrets that come with a life-altering change. After reading this book, perhaps you will be able to answer this question: Is winning the lottery a blessing or a curse

A to Z of American Women Writers

Author: Carol Kort

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 417

View: 692

Presents a biographical dictionary profiling important women authors, including birth and death dates, accomplishments and bibliography of each author's work.