Half a War

Author: Joe Abercrombie

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 519

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BUZZFEED AND THE INDEPENDENT • New York Times bestselling author Joe Abercrombie delivers the stunning conclusion to the epic fantasy trilogy that began with Half a King, praised by George R. R. Martin as “a fast-paced tale of betrayal and revenge that grabbed me from page 1 and refused to let go.” “The Shattered Seas trilogy has worked its way into a very exclusive group of my favorite fantasy novels of all time.”—James Dashner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner Words are weapons. Princess Skara has seen all she loved made blood and ashes. She is left with only words. But the right words can be as deadly as any blade. If she is to reclaim her birthright, she must conquer her fears and sharpen her wits to a lethal edge. Only half a war is fought with swords. The deeply cunning Father Yarvi has walked a long road from crippled slave to king’s minister. He has made allies of old foes and stitched together an uneasy peace. But now the ruthless Grandmother Wexen has raised the greatest army since the elves made war on God, and put Bright Yilling at its head—a man who worships only Death. Sometimes one must fight evil with evil. Some—like Thorn Bathu and the sword-bearer Raith—are born to fight, perhaps to die. Others—like Brand the smith and Koll the wood-carver—would rather stand in the light. But when Mother War spreads her irons wings, she may cast the whole Shattered Sea into darkness. Praise for Half a War “Filled with swift battles, quick plot twists and witty dialogue.”—New York Daily News “A fantasy for all ages, and all times [that] rends the soul as compulsively as anything Abercrombie has written to date . . . Half a War is a success in every way, putting a stupendous capstone on the entire Shattered Sea Trilogy.”—Tor.com “There’s all the sword-swinging and Machiavellian machinations you could ask for in this tale of a final battle between countries and kings.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star “Engaging, mesmerising and jaw-dropping.”—SciFi Now “Abercrombie piles on shocking betrayals and charges his characters a high price for vengeance in this powerful and fitting final volume.”—Publishers Weekly Praise for Joe Abercrombie’s Half a King “A fast-paced tale of betrayal and revenge that grabbed me from page 1 and refused to let go.”—George R. R. Martin “Once this plot has its teeth in you, it will not let go. . . . Abercrombie’s masterly storytelling means that everything, from the characters you come to love and despise to the sprawling world that is explored, is enthralling.”—Fantasy Book Review Half the World “Another entertaining burst of battle, magic and political machinations from the always reliable Joe Abercrombie . . . a thoroughgoing blast, a violent, beautiful rabbit hole of craft that is well worth disappearing into.”—Shelf Awareness “Compelling . . . [Thorn] makes Katniss Everdeen look like Dorothy Gale.”—Chicago Tribune From the Hardcover edition.

The Shattered Sea Series 3-Book Bundle

Half a King, Half the World, Half a War

Author: Joe Abercrombie

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1104

View: 697

Discover the fantasy novels that have earned raves from George R. R. Martin and Maze Runner author James Dashner, won a Locus Award and an Alex Award, and claimed best-of-the-year honors in Time, The Washington Post, and BuzzFeed. From a crippled slave whose appearance belies his dangerous ambitions, to “a girl who makes Katniss Everdeen look like Dorothy” (Chicago Tribune), an unforgettable cast of characters populate this addictive series, now together in one epic ebook bundle: HALF A KING HALF THE WORLD HALF A WAR Prince Yarvi has vowed to regain a throne he never wanted. But first he must survive cruelty, chains, and the bitter waters of the Shattered Sea. And he must do it all with only one good hand. Born a weakling in the eyes of his father, Yarvi is alone in a world where a strong arm and a cold heart rule. He cannot grip a shield or swing an axe, so he must sharpen his mind to a deadly edge. Gathering a strange fellowship of the outcast and the lost, he finds they can do more to help him become the man he needs to be than any court of nobles could. But even with loyal friends at his side, Yarvi learns that his path may end as it began—in twists, and traps, and tragedy. Praise for the Shattered Sea series “The Shattered Seas trilogy has worked its way into a very exclusive group of my favorite fantasy novels of all time. The pacing is perfect, the characters deep and true and real, the world rich and authentic, the plot full of twists and turns. Perhaps my favorite part is that no one is purely good or evil: Each and every character has layers upon layers that are a joy to discover. I tore through all three books and truly hope that someday Joe Abercrombie returns to this magnificent, captivating world.”—James Dashner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner “A fast-paced tale of betrayal and revenge that grabbed me from page 1 and refused to let go.”—George R. R. Martin, on Half a King “Abercrombie’s Shattered Sea is a fantastic yet believable backdrop to Yarvi’s struggle, a vivid imaginary land.”—The Seattle Times, on Half a King “An excellent page-turner . . . full of drama and energy.”—New York Daily News, on Half the World “Compelling . . . [Thorn] makes Katniss Everdeen look like Dorothy.”—Chicago Tribune, on Half the World “A fantasy for all ages, and all times, [that] rends the soul as compulsively as anything Abercrombie has written to date . . . Half a War is a success in every way, putting a stupendous capstone on the entire Shattered Sea Trilogy.”—Tor.com “Abercrombie piles on shocking betrayals and charges his characters a high price for vengeance in this powerful and fitting final volume.”—Publishers Weekly, on Half a War

Whitaker's Shorts 2016: The Year in Review

Author: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 120

View: 365

Now in its 148th edition Whitaker's Almanack is the definitive reference guide containing a comprehensive overview of every aspect of UK infrastructure and an excellent introduction to world politics. Available only as ebooks, Whitaker's Shorts are selected themed sections from Whitaker's 2016: portable and perfect for those with specific interests within the print edition. Whitaker's Shorts 2016: The Year in Review includes a digest of the 2014-15 year's events in the UK and abroad and articles covering subjects as diverse as Archaeology, Conservation, Business and Finance, Music, Dance, Film and Weather. There is also an A-Z listing of all the results for the major sporting events from Alpine Skiing through to Fencing, Football, Horse Racing, Rugby, Polo and Tennis.

The Shattered Vine

Book Three of The Vineart War

Author: Laura Anne Gilman

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 883

A Simon & Schuster eBook. Simon & Schuster has a great book for every reader.

The Pictorial Field-book of the War of 1812

Or, Illustrations, by Pen and Pencil, of the History, Biography, Scenery, Relics, and Traditions of the Last War for American Independence

Author: Benson John Lossing

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: United States

Page: 1084

View: 786

Civil War

Author: Lucan

Publisher: Hackett Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 304

View: 769

Written in the reign of Nero—the emperor against whom Lucan was implicated in a conspiracy and by whom he was compelled to commit suicide at the age of 25—the poet's dark, ambiguous, unfinished masterpiece focuses on the disintegration of the Roman body politic and the war between Julius Caesar and Pompey that ultimately lead to the end of the Roman republic. While aiming for a poem both as rugged as Lucan's—with its mix of history and fantasy, of high and low registers, of common and uncommon turns of phrase, of narrative and declamation—and as reader-friendly as possible, Brian Walters owns that he has "nowhere tried to simplify the rhetorical excesses that are the essence of Lucan's poem, the real meat and bone of the Civil War." A brilliant Introduction by W. R. Johnson discusses the poem's relationship to Nero and monarchy; its invocations of both the gods and chaos; the real hero of the Civil War; and the poem's end and narrative styles. Synopses of individual books; suggestions for further reading; a glossary of names, places, and Roman institutions; and a map are also included.

The Gates of Hell (Telamon Triology, Book 3)

A thrilling mystery of murder and adventure

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 255

View: 372

A campaign of murder, as Alexander nears his greatest challenge... Paul Doherty writes the third instalment featuring Alexander the Great and Telamon in The Gates of Hell, a gripping mystery of murder and adventure. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody. 'The combination of legendary historical figures and an old-fashioned murder mystery proves irresistible in Paul Doherty's vivid new interpretation of the exploits of Alexander the Great' - Yorkshire Evening Post It is 334 BC, and Alexander and his troops have crossed into Asia. Marching south he has conquered all in his path, but he and his enemies all know that the great prize is the city of Halicarnassus, strategically important and with fortifications to make any attacker despair. Alexander's court is set up close to the city, and his physician and old friend Telamon is there. Even as Alexander prepares for one of the most dramatic confrontations in the ancient world, a series of brutal killings begins, proving that the Persians have infiltrated the court. With his lord facing the fight of his life, Telamon must go through 'the Gates of Hell' to find the traitors. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'With vivid sense imagery and a keen eye for detail, Doherty brings colour and drama' 'Paul Doherty grasps the atmosphere, the spirit of the times, and the aura of royal intrigue of 334 BC' 'Five stars'