The Short Stories of F. Scott Fitzgerald

Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald,Matthew Joseph Bruccoli

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0684842505

Category: Fiction

Page: 797

View: 9094

F. Scott Fitzgerald is best known for his novels such as THE GREAT GATSBY, but during his all-too-brief literary life, he sold some 160 short stories to popular magazines. Here, noted scholar and biographer Matthew Bruccoli assembles in one volume the full scope of the best of Fitzgerald's short fiction. These 43 sparkling masterpieces are offered in a handsome Scribner Classics edition, perfect for the home library.

Activist Life

Author: Christine Milne

Publisher: Univ. of Queensland Press

ISBN: 0702260681

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 360

View: 1203

An Activist Life is the story of an apparently ordinary woman – a high-school English teacher from northwest Tasmania – who became a fiery environmental warrior, pitted against some of the most powerful business and political forces in the country. In it, Christine Milne tells her story through the objects that have symbolic meaning in both her personal and political life, from the butter pats in her kitchen that represent her journey from farm girl at Wesley Vale to environmental and human rights activist at the national and global level, to the Pride t-shirt she wore walking in Mardi Gras next to her son, after years of fighting for the legal reform of gay rights in Tasmania. She describes how politics actually works: the deals, the promises kept and broken, the horse-trading and treachery involved in some of the most controversial and difficult issues of our time, including the attempts to forge a workable and effective climate change policy for Australia, and Australia's treatment of refugees and asylum seekers. This is a fascinating insider's account of what it means to be a woman in politics: the sacrifices of family life and relationships, the relentless misogyny and sexism that must be endured, the gritty conviction that you must never, ever give up the pursuit of the greater good. It is the story of Australian politics and the fight to save the world, and essential reading for anyone who cares about either.

The Athenæum

A Journal of Literature, Science, the Fine Arts, Music, and the Drama

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1336

The Loved One

Author: Evelyn Waugh

Publisher: New Canadian Library

ISBN: 0735253048

Category: Fiction

Page: 103

View: 8468

America and Britain swirl together in this delightful satire. Dennis Barlow came to America as a poet, hired to write a screenplay for a movie studio. But that ended badly, and so he has taken a job at a pet cemetery, a choice that has left other members of the British expat community in Hollywood quite taken aback, though they are quickly distracted by the suicide of one of their own. Barlow is tasked with the funeral arrangements, during which process he meets the beautiful Aimée Thanatogenos. Can he keep himself in the good graces of his countrymen, and Ms. Thanatogenos – especially after the passing of other poets’ works as his own? Penguin Random House Canada is proud to bring you classic works of literature in e-book form, with the highest quality production values. Find more today and rediscover books you never knew you loved.

The Pall Mall Budget

Being a Weekly Collection of Articles Printed in the Pall Mall Gazette from Day to Day, with a Summary of News

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 4467

The Youth's Companion

Author: Nathaniel Willis,Daniel Sharp Ford

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Children's periodicals

Page: N.A

View: 1354

Includes songs for solo voice with piano accompaniment.

Journey Back to Christmas

Based on the Hallmark Channel Original Movie

Author: Leigh Duncan

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781947892101

Category: Christmas stories

Page: 254

View: 3714

A WWII nurse finds herself in the modern era.

Mama's Home Remedies

Discover Time-Tested Secrets of Good Health and the Pleasures of Natural Living

Author: Svetlana Konnikova,Anna Maria Clement, Dr.

Publisher: Aurora Publishers

ISBN: 9780979175824

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 313

View: 2192

2010 Living Now Bronze Award Winner for category: Nutrition, Dietary, CirculationWinner, 2009 Mom's Choice Gold Award in Adult Books: Health, Nutrition, Fitness & SafetyFinalist in the 2008 Next Generation Indie Book Awards for two categories: Health/Wellness and Multicultural Non-Fiction""Interwoven with centuries-old herbal remedies, time-tested techniques, and women s wisdom handed down through the ages, this kaleidoscopic whole-health tapestry reveals a myriad of natural methods for achieving and maintaining good health and all-around happiness. At the heart of the narrative is a compilation of natural recipes for infusions, poultices, teas, and tincturesgarnered by the young Svetlana while listening to her mother and the girls (other medical professionals like her mother) as they shared their bond of friendship and theirtales of healingsuccess while gathered for tea in the family s blossom-filled gardenintertwined with her grandmother s fairy tales, family vignettes, legends, and herbal lore. Filled with easy-to-make, natural, healing recipes for common ailments and illnessessuch as allergies, asthma, fatigue, headaches, insomnia, and respiratory problemsthis all-encompassing guide to wellness offers a holistic approach that intermingles alternative treatments with folklore, psychology, philosophy, and spirituality to foster optimal health and joyful living."

Gracefully Insane

The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital

Author: Alex Beam

Publisher: PublicAffairs

ISBN: 0786750367

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 3857

Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its "golden age," McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat. Gracefully Insane, by Boston Globe columnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson protégé whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness; Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy; of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age. This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath's The Bell Jar and Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted (both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.

Caesar the War Dog

Author: Stephen Dando-Collins

Publisher: Random House Australia

ISBN: 174275631X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 300

View: 1870

At the kennels, Caesar the chocolate labrador doesn't look special. But Corporal Ben Fulton sees something different - an intelligent dog whose curiosity will make him an excellent sniffer dog in the Australian Army. On operations in Afghanistan with Ben, Caesar proves his worth, finding hidden explosives and saving the lives of the soldiers. Then, during a Taliban ambush, Caesar is separated from his master. Ben and his best mate Charlie are seriously wounded and evacuated to hospital. But where is Caesar? From their home in Australia, Ben and his family search for clues that might reveal whether their beloved dog is still alive and surviving Afghanistan's bitter winter cold and capture by the Taliban. It will be a long road home, and Caesar will face many hardships along the way, but for this brave and loyal dog, anything is possible. Caesar the War Dog is based on the true story of Australian military dog Sarbi and its experiences in Afghanistan, combined with the factual experiences of Endal, the devoted British dog who cared for his wheelchair-bound ex-serviceman master and became the most decorated dog in history.

Coffin Hollow and Other Ghost Tales

Author: Ruth Ann Musick

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

ISBN: 0813145864

Category: Fiction

Page: 216

View: 7548

Mysterious vanishing hitchhikers, travelers beset by headless dogs, and long-dead moonshiners come alive in this collection of ninety-six Appalachian folktales. Set in coal mines and remote farm cabins, in hidden hollows and on mountain tops, some of these stories look back to the days when West Virginia was first settled; others reflect the rancor and brutality of the Civil War. But most of these tales guide us through the recent past of the uncommonly rich folk heritage of West Virginia. This ghostly collection, with source information and bold illustrations, will thrill longtime lovers of supernatural lore.

Crossing the River Sorrow

One Nurse's Story

Author: Janet Richards

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN: 1449796605

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 222

View: 6895

Crossing the River Sorrow tells the story of one woman's plunge from a sheltered childhood in the 50's into the world of medicine, and her personal search for answers to questions about suffering. A single moment at the bedside of a paralyzed girl begins her journey on the River Sorrow, which takes her on a life-long quest to come to terms with the problem of pain. More than medical case stories or tales of overcoming, Crossing the River Sorrow is a narrative told from the perspective an ordinary wife, mother, and nurse, as she lives her way to peace in the face of some of life's most troubling questions. "From the first pages I immediately realized I was in the presence of a gifted writer. In Nurse Richards, you find a gentle yet courageous soul, an artistic master of words, intellectual and guileless with an endearing simplicity of heart. Follow her as she battles unseen enemies with refreshing candor while deftly drawing the reader into her struggles against the stark and dark realities of adversity. This work is the story of a soul coming to a profound understanding of Christ, the gospels and the cross a place where all should journey. Read. You will be nursed into someone you need to become." Dan'l C. Markham, Director of Partner Relations at Life Without Limbs Author, with Nick Vujicic, of the Lost Mandate, A Christ Command Revealed

An Australian in China

Author: George Ernest Morrison

Publisher: Library of Alexandria

ISBN: 1465503145

Category: China

Page: 299

View: 7380

Glade's Journey

Stories from an Animal Hospital

Author: Pauline Kidner

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780953662807

Category: Veterinary hospitals

Page: 194

View: 507

The Toothpaste Millionaire

Author: Jean Merrill

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780618759255

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 129

View: 7350

Why Should I Recycle Garbage? (PB)

Their Eyes Were Watching God

Author: Zora Neale Hurston

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 9780252017780

Category: Fiction

Page: 231

View: 8489

When Janie Starks returns home, the small Black community buzzes with gossip about the outcome of her affair with a younger man