Fire and Memory

On Architecture and Energy

Author: Guillén Fernández

Publisher: MIT Press

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 325

View: 493

The author reconstructs the movement from cold to warm architecture, reintroduces energy to the discussion, and reminds the reader the sense of touch is necessary to an understanding of the environment. Illustrations.

The Memory of Fire

The Waking Land

Author: Callie Bates

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 448

View: 691

Magic. Romance. Revolution. The sequel to the bold and gorgeous The Waking Land. 'Bates is an author well worth watching' Robin Hobb Jahan Korakides is the hero who saved the life of the crown prince in battle, helped win the revolution in Eren and earned the heart of Elanna, the legendary Wildegarde reborn. But Jahan Korakides is also broken; haunted by memories of the woman who experimented on him and his brothers as children. So when the empire threatens war in retribution for Elanna's illegal sorcery, Jahan leaves Eren to negotiate with the emperor on Queen Sophy's behalf. But the world he left has changed - riots rock the city of Ida, his brother is missing and the crown prince refuses to speak to him. Jahan's only hope of success seems to lie with the rebels in Ida. Yet, if he joins them, he will merely spur on the war he's desperate to avoid, and risk revealing himself as a sorcerer. And then the witch hunters arrive at court, bringing Elanna in chains.

A Memory of Fire

Requiem: The Dragon War, Book 3

Author: Daniel Arenson

Publisher: Moonclipse

ISBN:

Category: Dragons

Page: 350

View: 885

The Dragon War, the epic fantasy trilogy beginning with A Legacy of Light, concludes with a tale of darkness, hope, and dragonfire. BOOK THREE: A MEMORY OF FIRE Darkness covers Requiem. The cruel Cadigus family, usurpers of the throne, rule with an iron fist. The Resistance, a band of desperate rebels, lies smashed and scattered. Hope fades. Some say it is utterly lost. Bloodied, the Resistance hides in distant lands. Most of its fighters lie dead. One of its leaders, captured in battle, suffers torture in the dungeons of Cadigus. Old Requiem seems like nothing but a dying dream, a memory of fire and starlight. Yet even in the darkest night, the embers of defiance glow. The last few resistors muster. Rising as dragons, lighting the sky with fire, they fly to their last stand -- an attack on the capital itself. ____________ THE REQUIEM SERIES: Requiem: Dawn of Dragons Book 1: Requiem's Song Book 2: Requiem's Hope Book 3: Requiem's Prayer Requiem: Song of Dragons Book 1: Blood of Requiem Book 2: Tears of Requiem Book 3: Light of Requiem Requiem: Dragonlore Book 1: A Dawn of Dragonfire Book 2: A Day of Dragon Blood Book 3: A Night of Dragon Wings Requiem: The Dragon War Book 1: A Legacy of Light Book 2: A Birthright of Blood Book 3: A Memory of Fire Requiem: Requiem for Dragons Book 1: Dragons Lost Book 2: Dragons Reborn Book 3: Dragons Rising Requiem: Flame of Requiem Book 1: Forged in Dragonfire Book 2: Crown of Dragonfire Book 3: Pillars of Dragonfire Requiem: Dragonfire Rain Book 1: Blood of Dragons Book 2: Rage of Dragons Book 3: Flight of Dragons

A Memory of Fire

Author: R. L. Stedman

Publisher: Waverley Production

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 260

View: 369

Memory of Fire

Book One of The World Gates

Author: Holly Lisle

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 243

Lauren Dane discovers a doorway to another reality in Cat Creek, North Carolina -- and she crosses over, driven by a strange compulsion she can neither resist nor comprehend. Molly McColl is brought there against her will -- kidnapped from her trailer and carried into a realm that traps her, terrifies her...yet offers her a strange and wondrous escape. In an extraordinary universe of magic and monsters, two strangers sharing only pain and loss must now pursue the destiny that has united them. Because worlds are suddenly threatened by an evil beyond imagining -- the world they have entered...and the one the have left behind.

Memory of Fire: Faces and masks

Author: Eduardo Galeano

Publisher: W W Norton & Company Incorporated

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 320

View: 421

The second volume in the author's imaginative trilogy looks at the history of Latin America during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, touching on the contributions of pirates, explorers, clergy, and monarchs.

Discontinuities in Ecosystems and Other Complex Systems

Author: Craig R. Allen

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 288

View: 397

Following the publication of C. S. Holling's seminal work on the relationship between animal body mass patterns and scale-specific landscape structure, ecologists began to explore the theoretical and applied consequences of discontinuities in ecosystems and other complex systems. Are ecosystems and their components continuously distributed and do they adhere to scaling laws, or are they discontinuous and more complex than early models would have us believe? The resulting propositions over the structure of complex systems sparked an ongoing debate regarding the mechanisms generating discontinuities and the statistical methods used for their detection. This volume takes the view that ecosystems and other complex systems are inherently discontinuous and that such fields as ecology, economics, and urban studies greatly benefit from this paradigm shift. Contributors present evidence of the ubiquity of discontinuous distributions in ecological and social systems and how their analysis provides insight into complex phenomena. The book is divided into three sections. The first focuses on background material and contrasting views concerning the discontinuous organization of complex systems. The second discusses discontinuous patterns detected in a number of different systems and methods for detecting them, and the third touches on the potential significance of discontinuities in complex systems. Science is still dominated by a focus on power laws, but the contributors to this volume are convinced power laws often mask the interesting dynamics of systems and that those dynamics are best revealed by investigating deviations from assumed power law distributions. In 2008, a grand conference on resilience was held in Stockholm, hosting 600 participants from around the world. There are now three big centers established with resilience, the most recent one being the Stockholm Resilience Center, with others in Australia (an international coral reef center), Arizona State University's new sustainability center focusing on anthropology, and Canada's emerging social sciences and resilience center. Activity continues to flourish in Alaska, South Africa, and the Untied Kingdom, and a new center is forming in Uruguay.

Mountains Of Memory

A Fire Lookout'S Life

Author: Don Scheese

Publisher: University of Iowa Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 255

View: 298

In Mountains of Memory, seasoned wilderness dweller Don Scheese charts a long season of watching for and fighting fires in Idaho's River of No Return Wilderness&151the largest federal wilderness area in the mainland United States. An inspiring tale of self-discovery,Mountains of Memory paints a complex portrait of the natural, institutional, and historical forces that have shaped the great forested landscapes of the American West. A student of nature writing as well as a fire lookout with over a decade of experience, Scheese recounts his life at the top of the world, along with daring adventures such as backpacking and mountaineering in the Bighorn Crags and kayaking down the Middle Fork of the Salmon River. All the while, he touches upon the mysterious and powerful realities of the wilderness around him and stunning dawns visible within the glass cage perched on a 9,000-foot mountain, stirring flashes of lightning visible all around the dark landscape as the radio crackles with reports of strikes observed and fires spotted, long-awaited trips down the mountain to civilization for cold beer and hot pizza. In the tradition of Edward Abbey and Gary Snyder, Don Scheese offers readers a meditation on the meaning and value of wilderness at the beginning of the twenty-first century.

Memory of Fire

Author: Clare Maynard

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 52

View: 477

This first collection of poems by Clare Maynard, written over a ten year period, reflect on the author's journeys in Europe, including Berlin, Wales, Italy and Spain. Her unique visual language captures the changing seasons and cultures of both rural and urban landscapes, evoking both myth and historical events experienced by those who inhabit them.

Passing Through the Fire

Conscious Imagination and Thinking

Author: D. C. Kerns

Publisher: BalboaPress

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 312

View: 444

The ideas presented within these pages can help the reader focus on improving self and community through imagination and thinking. There is hope for change when the inspiration comes from within. When it comes to freedom of thought, it is easier to change one mind at a time than entire cultures. As long as there are individuals who express optimism for such change, there is hope for all of us. The topics cover common themes that people and society come across while passing through the fire of daily life. These themes are about all of us. They are about time, space, matter, spirit, humanism, and universalism. They attempt to explain by seeding the complex with the simple. There are no endings, only beginnings in awareness when its purpose is to unify consciousness on Earth with universal life. When this occurs rightly, our perceptions will move us into that next stage of being: universal inclusiveness and its eternal expansion.