Confessions of a Dangerous Mind

An Unauthorized Autobiography

Author: Chuck Barris

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780091889111

Category: Television personalities

Page: 250

View: 9581

In this unauthorised autobiography, Chuck Barris, the wildly flamboyant 1970s TV producer who brought us The Gong Show, bares all. In January 2003 Miramax will release a major film based on this book. The star studded cast includes George Clooney, Julia Roberts, Drew Barrymore and Brad Pitt.

Epsilon

Roman

Author: David Ambrose

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783404148370

Category:

Page: 350

View: 6479

Charlie Kaufman

Confessions of an Original Mind

Author: Doreen Alexander Child

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 0313358605

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 168

View: 345

This revealing study looks at the influences and creative impulses that shape one of today's most progressive, thoughtful filmmakers. * Includes more than 20 original interviews with Charlie Kaufman's producers, cinematographers, editors, actors, and film crews * Provides a gallery of photographs from Kaufman's movies

The Philosophy of Charlie Kaufman

Author: David LaRocca

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

ISBN: 0813133920

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 312

View: 8971

From the Academy Award–winning Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004) and Academy Award–nominated Adaptation (2002) to the cult classic Being John Malkovich (1999), writer Charlie Kaufman is widely admired for his innovative, philosophically resonant films. Although he only recently made his directorial debut with Synecdoche, New York (2008), most fans and critics refer to “Kaufman films” the way they would otherwise discuss works by directors Woody Allen, Martin Scorsese, or the Coen brothers. Not only has Kaufman transformed our sense of what can take place in a film, but he also has made a significant impact on our understanding of the role of the screenwriter. The Philosophy of Charlie Kaufman, edited by David LaRocca, is the first collection of essays devoted to a rigorous philosophical exploration of Kaufman’s work by a team of capable and critical scholars from a wide range of disciplines. From political theorists to philosophers, classicists to theologians, professors of literature to filmmakers, the contributing authors delve into the heart of Kaufman’s innovative screenplays, offering not only original philosophical analyses but also extended reflections on the nature of film and film criticism.

Library Journal

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Libraries

Page: N.A

View: 8189

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Junior libraries, 1954-May 1961). Also issued separately.

Son of the 100 Best Movies You've Never Seen

Author: Richard Crouse

Publisher: ECW Press

ISBN: 1554903300

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 275

View: 3153

Fans of offbeat cinema, discriminating renters and collectors, and movie buffs will drool over this checklist of the best overlooked and underappreciated films of the last 100 years. In Son of the 100 Best Movies You've Never Seen, Richard Crouse, Canada AM film critic and host of television's award-winning Reel to Real, presents a follow-up to his 2003 book with another 100 of his favorite films. Titles range from the obscure, like 1912's The Cameraman's Revenge, to El Topo's unusual existential remake of the classic western, and little-seen classics like The Killing. Each essay features a detailed description of plot, notable trivia tidbits, critical reviews, and interviews with actors and filmmakers. Featured interviews include Billy Bob Thornton on an inspirational movie about a man with his head in the clouds, Francis Ford Coppola on One from the Heart, and Mario Van Peebles on playing his own father in Badasssss! Sidebars feature quirky details, including legal disclaimers and memorable quotes, along with movie picks from A-list actors and directors.

Kirkus Reviews

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American literature

Page: N.A

View: 3588

The Ending - Du wirst dich fürchten. Und du wirst nicht wissen, warum

Psychothriller

Author: Iain Reid

Publisher: Droemer eBook

ISBN: 3426450046

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 3586

Der Überraschungs-Hit des Kanadiers Iain Reid - subtiler Psycho-Horror für Fans von Stephen King und Hitchcock Eine Frau fährt mit ihrem neuen Freund Jake durch die winterliche Weite Kanadas. Trotz ihrer besonderen Verbindung denkt sie darüber nach, die Sache zu beenden. Und während draußen die Dämmerung das einsame Land in Dunkelheit hüllt, werden drinnen im Wagen Gespräche und Atmosphäre immer unheimlicher: Weshalb hält die Erzählerin einen Stalker vor Jake geheim, der ihr seit längerem Angst macht? Warum gibt Jake nur bruchstückhaft etwas von sich preis? Wort für Wort steigt aus den Seiten ein kaum greifbares Unbehagen auf, denn eines ist von vornherein klar: Das junge Paar steuert unaufhaltsam in die Katastrophe ... Ein raffiniertes, stilistisch brillantes Psycho-Drama über Identität, menschliche Abgründe, Einsamkeit und Wahn - "Der kühnste und originellste literarische Psycho-Thriller seit langem." Chicago Tribune

Rules of the Game

Quiz Shows And American Culture

Author: N.A

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 0791481522

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7691

Joseph Conrad: Herz der Finsternis. Vollständige deutsche Ausgabe von "Heart of Darkness"

Author: Joseph Conrad

Publisher: epubli

ISBN: 3746712610

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 2212

Der Bestseller »Herz der Finsternis« von Joseph Conrad erzählt von einer Handelsfahrt auf dem Kongo-Fluss im 19. Jahrhundert. Der Kapitän Marlow kommt in Kontakt mit den Kolonialisten, die den Fluss zum Rohstofftransport nach Europa nutzen. Das »Herz der Finsternis« erreicht Marlowe in einem abgelegenen Dschungelgebiet, wo ein vom Wahnsinn getriebener Europäer ein Terrorregime errichtet hat. Marlowe versucht, beschwichtigend auf ihn einzuwirken.

Lord Stonevilles Geheimnis

Author: Sabrina Jeffries

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3802589297

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1518

Der Marquess von Stoneville, Oliver Sharpe, wird von einem tragischen Ereignis aus seiner Vergangenheit verfolgt: Er gibt sich die Schuld am Tod seiner Eltern. Sein haltloser Lebensstil sorgt in der vornehmen Gesellschaft für Skandale. Bis seine Großmutter ihn eines Tages vor die Wahl stellt: Entweder Oliver sucht sich eine Frau und heiratet sie, oder er verliert sein Erbe. Kurz darauf begegnet Oliver der Amerikanerin Maria und heckt mit ihr einen Plan aus. Maria soll sich als seine Verlobte ausgeben. Doch Oliver hätte niemals vermutet, dass er sich in die hübsche Maria tatsächlich verlieben könnte ...

Google-Mitarbeiter

Der erste Insider-Bericht aus dem Weltkonzern

Author: Douglas Edwards

Publisher: Redline Wirtschaft

ISBN: 3864142768

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 480

View: 6046

1998 erblickte einer der einflussreichsten Internetkonzerne das Licht der Welt. Einer, der nicht nur die IT-Welt eroberte, sondern es obendrein geschafft hat, einen eigenen Begriff zu prägen. Googeln schaffte es sogar in den Duden. Die Suchmaschine ist heute für Millionen Menschen die Anlaufstelle Nummer 1, wenn es um die Beschaffung von Informationen geht. Und von der ersten Stunde an dabei war Google-Mitarbeiter Nr. 59, Douglas Edwards. Mit viel Humor berichtet er von den Anfängen, der ganz eigenen Google-Kultur und seinen ganz persönlichen Erfahrungen in der sehr speziellen Welt eines Internet-Start-ups auf dem Weg zum Global Player. Er beschreibt, wie Larry Page und Sergey Brin mit Eigensinn und einer leichten Arroganz Google dahin brachten, wo Google heute ist und wofür Google steht. Atmen wir quasi die Google-Luft in der Konzernzentrale und begeben uns mit Douglas Edwards auf die Reise durch das Google-Imperium. Dabei erzählt er uns viele persönliche Geschichten darüber, wie es ist, im wohl eigenwilligsten Konzern der Welt zu arbeiten.

Brian W. Fairbanks - Writings

Author: Brian W. Fairbanks

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1411624327

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 704

View: 3391

In the words of one reader, Brian W. Fairbanks has a real talent for extracting the essence of a given subject and articulating it in a meaningful way. In WRITINGS, the author collects some of his finest essays and criticism spanning the years 1991-2005 and covering four subjects: FILM LITERATURE MUSIC SOCIETY Whether offering an insightful analysis of film noir, examining Benjamin Franklin's impact on American society, taking a clear-eyed, non-partisan look at democrats, republicans, the 2004 presidential campaign, George W. Bush, and the war on terror, or lambasting the corruption of television news, Brian W. Fairbanks is ingenious with a sophisticated yet effortlessly readable style. Also available in two hardcover editions.

Time

Author: Briton Hadden,Henry Robinson Luce

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9730

Wer zuletzt beißt

Author: Mary Janice Davidson

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 380258824X

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 8800

Betsy Taylor, Königin der Vampire, ist kaum aus den Flitterwochen zurückgekehrt, als eine Horde wilder Blutsauger in ihr Haus einfällt und ihre Fähigkeiten als Herrscherin auf eine harte Probe stellt. Kurz darauf bittet Detektiv Nick Berry sie um Hilfe bei der Aufklärung einiger schrecklicher Mordfälle, bei denen offenbar ein Vampir die Hand im Spiel hatte. Zu allem Unglück wird Betsy außerdem vom Geist ihrer unlängst verstorbenen Stiefmutter verfolgt, die nach dem Tod noch viel unausstehlicher ist als zu Lebzeiten. Und auch das Eheleben mit ihrem frisch angetrauten Gatten Eric verläuft alles andere als harmonisch. Siebter Band der Betsy-Taylor-Reihe. Mit Bonus-Story "Speed Dating auf Werwolf-Art"