Beyond the Sling

A Real-Life Guide to Raising Confident, Loving Children the Attachment Parenting Way

Author: Mayim Bialik

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 258

View: 417

The author describes how she forged positive relationships with her sons through Attachment Parenting practices, sharing advice on how to address a child's needs without resorting to pop culture trends.

Great Myths of Child Development

Author: Stephen Hupp

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Psychology

Page: 208

View: 170

Great Myths of Child Development reveals the latestevidence-based science behind the myths and misconceptions aboutthe developing child. Shatters the most commonly-held child development myths Reveals the science behind such topical issues astwin-telepathy, sex-prediction, and imaginary friends Covers hot-button issues like childhood vaccines, spankings,“time-outs,” and breastfeeding of older children Features numerous pop culture references and examples drawnfrom popular TV shows and movies, such as Duck Dynasty,Modern Family and Mad Men Points to a wealth of supplementary resources for interestedparents—from evidence-based treatments and self-help books torelevant websites

From Dan to Beersheba and Beyond

A Promised Land Pilgrimage

Author: Barry Blackstone

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 392

View: 693

From Dan to Beersheba and Beyond is a series of spiritual observations and opinions from an aging pastor on his first trip to Palestine. Traveling with a study group from Dallas Theological Seminary, this Maine pastor finally gets to experience the biblical places and times he has imagined since childhood and has studied and taught throughout his adult years. Pastor Blackstone shares insights and highlights from this thirty-year dream, joined by his daughter Marnie, the heroine of two previous books, Rendezvous in Paris and Though One Go with Me. Travel with this father-daughter team from the slopes of Mount Hermon in the north to the shores of the Red Sea in the south on this spectacular pilgrimage to the Holy Land of Israel. Journey from the modern city of Tel Aviv in the west to the ancient city of Jericho in the east to explore the biblical people and places that make this land unique. Experience picking five stones from the stream in Elah like David, witness the beauty of the Jezreel Valley from the top of Mount Carmel as Elijah did, climb Masada, and stand on Mount Moriah where the Jerusalem temple once stood. Swim in the Sea of Galilee and the Dead Sea, drink water from the spring where Gideon tested his famous band of three hundred, wade the waters of the Gihon Spring through Hezekiah's Tunnel, and wander the shores of the Mediterranean Sea at Caesarea. Visit the ancient cities of Nazareth, Capernaum, Bethlehem, Chorazin, Bethsaida, Megiddo, Caesarea Philippi, and of course, Dan and Beersheba. If you have ever wanted to make this spiritual journey, From Dan to Beersheba and Beyond will whet your appetite for your own biblical adventure.

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Steve House

Publisher: Patagonia

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 288

View: 892

What does it take to be one of the world's best high-altitude mountain climbers? A lot of fundraising; traveling in some of the world's most dangerous countries; enduring cold bivouacs, searing lungs, and a cloudy mind when you can least afford one. It means learning the hard lessons the mountains teach. Steve House built his reputation on ascents throughout the Alps, Canada, Alaska, the Karakoram and the Himalaya that have expanded possibilities of style, speed, and difficulty. In 2005 Steve and alpinist Vince Anderson pioneered a direct new route on the Rupal Face of 26,600-foot Nanga Parbat, which had never before been climbed in alpine style. It was the third ascent of the face and the achievement earned Steveand Vince the first Piolet d"or (Golden Ice Axe) awarded to North Americans. Steve is an accomplished and spellbinding storyteller in the tradition of Maurice Herzog and Lionel Terray. Beyond the Mountain is a gripping read destined to be a mountain classic. And it

Beyond the Cyborg

Adventures with Donna Haraway

Author: Margret Grebowicz

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 208

View: 280

Feminist theorist and philosopher Donna Haraway has substantially impacted thought on science, cyberculture, the environment, animals, and social relations. This long-overdue volume explores her influence on feminist theory and philosophy, paying particular attention to her more recent work on companion species, rather than her "Manifesto for Cyborgs." Margret Grebowicz and Helen Merrick argue that the ongoing fascination with, and re-production of, the cyborg has overshadowed Haraway's extensive body of work in ways that run counter to her own transdisciplinary practices. Sparked by their own personal "adventures" with Haraway's work, the authors offer readings of her texts framed by a series of theoretical and political perspectives: feminist materialism, standpoint epistemology, radical democratic theory, queer theory, and even science fiction. They situate Haraway's critical storytelling and "risky reading" practices as forms of feminist methodology and recognize her passionate engagement with "naturecultures" as the theoretical core driving her work. Chapters situate Haraway as critic, theorist, biologist, feminist, historian, and humorist, exploring the full range of her identities and reflecting her commitment to embodying all of these modes simultaneously.

“Beyond the Horizon”

Author: John H. Whalen

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 194

View: 215

Beyond the Horizon is about a young man's search for himself and his purpose in life. The book takes place in the future after a nuclear holocaust was released upon the world. After the death of his mother, Jessica, Miles goes in search of his father, John, who had not returned to their village after several years. He starts out his adventure with his large dog, A-len. Miles rescues the beautiful Sara from some grotesque man-creatures. While exploring this primordial world, they have many adventures which include evil shape-shifters, witches that practice the dark arts, monster rats, and the dreaded demon beasts. As they travel on together, Sara and Miles become very close and Miles begins to have feelings that he doesn't understand. They also learn to continue to seek what is Beyond the Horizon.

Beyond Exile: Day by Day Armageddon

Author: J. L. Bourne

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 813

Sporadic news reports indicate chaos and violence spreading through US cities. An unknown evil is sweeping the planet. The dead are rising to claim the earth as the new dominant species in the food chain. Day by Day Armageddonand its sequel Beyond Exileare the handwritten journals of one desperate survivor as he battles in the face of global disaster. Zombie fiction at its finest, these books will take you to a whole new level of terror.