Beach Colors

A Novel

Author: Shelley Noble

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 877

Fans of Jane Green and Kristin Hannah are going to adore Beach Colors, a fun, heartwarming, and sandy story from Shelley Noble, a former dancer and choreographer whose credits include the films Mona Lisa Smile and The Game Plan. The perfect beach read, Beach Colors tells the story of a respected New York City fashion designer who returns to her tiny coastal Connecticut home town when her city life implodes—only to find herself falling hard for a local policeman, even though romance could seriously threaten her big career comeback.

The Weight of Light: A Novel of Redemption

Author: Sandria Rodriguez

Publisher: BookBaby

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 227

View: 620

Is it possible to escape the weight of your own decisions? Spanning over one hundred years, The Weight of Light: A Novel of Redemption illuminates the lives of three very different women as the world changes around them. At the age of fifteen, part-black, part Native American, all southern Bess Sutton has no idea what the world is like when she runs away from home with Tommy. Nothing like her own father, Tommy’s abusive ways eventually lead to the loss of the farmstead which Bess’s grandparents acquired in 1863, twelve years after her grandmother purchased her grandfather. But the story doesn’t begin with Bess. Bess’s story begins with her grandmother Emma, a young brood slave in South Carolina in 1838. Emma’s story takes her north, following the rivers and the promise of freedom ahead. Her life begins anew as soon as she can grasp freedom in her own two hands. It is Emma’s son Mint and daughter-in-law Justice who eventually adopt Bess and bring her into their loving family while working the land Mint’s parents had fought so hard for. Adeptly told with strong characters, compelling dialogue, and intriguing tales of the most important aspects of human nature, The Weight of Light propels the reader through the ages along with its characters. And, finally, as the novel unfolds, the stories not only take on their own individual meanings, but also converge to present a powerful overall message of redemption in the face of despair.

The Obsessive Chronicles: a novel

A Novel

Author: Josh Greenfield

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 222

View: 958

The Obsessive Chronicles is a coming of age story, told in a conversational first person voice, recounting a young man's trials in overcoming mental illness. The novel follows Jordan Fineman's descent into severe obsessive compulsive disorder while working in an Alaskan salmon cannery through his attempt to integrate into the New York City work force as a paralegal in the late 1980's. A tale as humorous as it is harrowing, sure to provide hope and encouragement to all who must follow a similar path, and to those who can identify.

Women's Fiction: A Guide to Popular Reading Interests

A Guide to Popular Reading Interests

Author: Rebecca Vnuk

Publisher: Libraries Unlimited

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 233

View: 327

Offering a fresh perspective on women's fiction for a broad reading audience—fans as well as librarians—this book defines and maps the genre, and describes hundreds of relevant titles.

Biblical: A Novel

Author: Christopher Galt

Publisher: Pegasus Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 272

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Margaret Atwood, an apocalyptic thriller that pits cutting-edge science against God and asks—who will win? A strange phenomenon is sweeping the globe. People are having visions, seeing angels, experiencing events that defy reality. Bizarre accounts pour in from distant places: a French teenager claims to have witnessed Joan of Arc being burned at the stake; a man in New York dies of malnutrition in a luxurious Central Park apartment; a fundamentalist Christian sect kidnaps and murders a geneticist. Then there is the graffiti WE ARE BECOMING that has popped up in every major city around the world, in every language. And everywhere people are starting to talk about John Astor, the mysterious author of the book that seems to be at the center of it all. After a rash of suicides around the world by individuals experiencing the time traveling hallucinations, psychiatrist John Macbeth and a team of FBI agents and scientists assemble to find out what’s going on before it’s too late. Is this a spiritual phenomenon or something more sinister?

Whisper Beach

A Novel

Author: Shelley Noble

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 580

From the New York Times bestselling author of Beach Colors and Breakwater Bay comes this unforgettable story— reminiscent of Kristin Hannah’s beloved novels—of friends, loyalty, and love as three women, who are reunited in the idyllic beach town where they grew up, are forced to re-evaluate their bonds. Fifteen years ago, seventeen-year-old Vanessa Moran fell in love and lost her virginity but not to the same boy. Pregnant, desperate, and humiliated, she fled friends and family and Whisper Beach, New Jersey, never breathing a word about her secret to anyone. She hasn’t been back since. Now a professional Manhattan organizer, she returns to the funeral of her best friend’s husband. She intends on just paying her respects and leaving—though she can’t deny she also wants the town to see how far she’s come as a successful business woman. But her plans to make this a short visit fall by the wayside when her girlfriends have other ideas. Dorie, the owner of the pier’s Blue Crab Restaurant where Van and her friends worked as teenagers, needs help. Dorie’s roving husband spends every penny they make and now their restaurant is failing. Joe, the boy Van left behind without an explanation, has never stopped loving her. While he’s wary of getting hurt again, he also can’t help wondering what would happen if they took up where they left off. As the summer progresses and the restaurant takes on a new look, trouble comes from unexpected sources. For Van, this summer will test the meaning of friendship and trust—and how far love can bend before it breaks.

S.O.S.: A Novel of World War 2

Author: Allan Cole

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 262

View: 993

This is a fine World War 2-era historical novel (based on Allan Cole's family experiences) set in Florida, on the "Home Front". Nazi submarine attacks off the coast are but the start of the problems for local residents. But human will to overcome obstacles in the face of adversity will surely save the day...won't it? The author writes: "Between February and May of 1942, German U-boats operated with impunity off the Florida coast, sinking nearly two dozen freighters from Cape Canaveral to Key West and killing five thousand people. Residents were horrified witnesses of the attacks—the night skies were aflame and in the morning the beaches were covered with oil and tar, ship parts and charred corpses. The Germans even landed teams of saboteurs charged with disrupting war efforts in the factories of the North. This novel is based on those events. For my own purposes, I set the tale in the fictitious town of Juno Beach on the banks of the equally fictitious Seminole River—all in the very real Palm Beach County, a veritable wilderness in those long ago days. Among the witnesses were my grandfather and grandmother, who operated an orchard and ranch in the area."

A Beach Wish

A Novel

Author: Shelley Noble

Publisher: HarperLuxe

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 786

New York Times bestselling author Shelley Noble returns to the beach in her latest summer read about the family we create and the wishes we make that can shape us. Zoe Bascombe has never said no to her family. When she blew her Juilliard audition, she caved to their wishes and went to business school. But when her mother dies and leaves instructions for Zoe to spread her ashes at a place called Wind Chime Beach, she defies her brothers and starts out for a New England town none of them has ever heard of and discovers a side of her garden club mother that her wildest dreams hadn’t imagined. Zoe has another family. Her first instinct is to run home. Instead she is caught in the middle of her feuding new relatives. With one family fighting among themselves and the other not speaking to her, Zoe must somehow find a way to bridge her new life with her old. For the first time in her life, Zoe must make a stand for her family—both of them. If only she can only figure out how. Her answer lies at Wind Chime Beach where for generations people have come to add their chimes to the ones already left among the trees. And when the wind blows and the air fills with music, their secrets, dreams, and hopes are sent into the world. There’s a message for Zoe here—if she has the courage to open her heart.

Forever Beach

A Novel

Author: Shelley Noble

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 127

From the New York Times bestselling author of Beach Colors and Breakwater Bay comes this heartwarming story of love, family, and redemption. Two young girls pledged to be best friends forever. Separated by circumstance and hurt, they are reunited years later as they struggle to put their differences aside for the sake of a special little girl—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah, Elin Hilderbrand, and Karen White. One woman struggling to hold on to what she has, One woman learning to forgive Their lives entwined by one little girl. Sarah Hargreave is anxious to finalize the adoption of her foster daughter Leila. Once a foster child herself, Sarah longs to become Leila’s “forever” family and give her all the love and stability she was denied in her own childhood. When Leila’s biological mother suddenly reappears and petitions the court for the return of her daughter, Sarah is terrified she’ll lose the little girl she loves to the drug addicted mother who abandoned her. Having grown up in foster care, Ilona Cartwright fights for the rights of children who have no one to fight for them. But to Sarah she is Nonie Blanchard, who grew up in the same group foster home as Sarah. They’d promised to be best friends forever, then Nonie was adopted by a wealthy family, and Sarah never heard from her again. Sarah still hurts from the betrayal. But Nonie harbors her own resentment toward the past. Mistrustful of each other, the two women form a tenuous alliance to ensure Leila’s future, but when Leila’s very survival is on the line, they’ll have to come to terms with their own feelings of hurt and rejection to save the child they both have come to love.

The Devil Is a Part-Timer!, Vol. 4 (light novel)

Author: Satoshi Wagahara

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 872

With his beloved MgRonald closed for renovations, the Devil King's out of work! Worse, the apartment he shares at Villa Rosa Sasazuka has gotten damaged thanks to his fight with Gabriel, which means the household has to temporarily vacate the premises. Having lost both his title and his vast land holdings, the Devil King takes a part-time job at his landlady's niece's beach house--and of course Chiho and Emi insist on coming along. It's summertime at the beach, but the Devil's still got work to do...!