Augustus

First Emperor of Rome

Author: Adrian Goldsworthy

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300178727

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 624

View: 6260

Tells the story of the heir to the murdered Julius Caesar who, as Rome's first emperor, brought peace and stability to the empire and presided over a new system of government.

Augustus

Author: Jonathan Edmondson

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 0748695389

Category: History

Page: 576

View: 9840

This book presents a selection of the most important scholarship on Augustus and the contribution he made to the development of the Roman state in the early imperial period.

Augustus

The Life of Rome's First Emperor

Author: Anthony Everitt

Publisher: Random House Incorporated

ISBN: 0812970586

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 377

View: 7887

A sweeping biography of Rome's first emperor follows Augustus Caesar as he transformed the Roman Republic into the world's greatest empire, consolidating and expanding Roman power into every aspect of the known world of his time, and examines his life in the context of the world in which he lived. By the author of Cicero. Reprint. 35,000 first printing.

Augustus

Introduction to the Life of an Emperor

Author: Karl Galinsky

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 0521744423

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 200

View: 7119

In this lively and concise biography Karl Galinsky examines Augustus' life from childhood to deification.

Augustus

Author: John Williams

Publisher: New York Review of Books

ISBN: 159017822X

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 9152

WINNER OF THE 1973 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD By the Author of Stoner In Augustus, his third great novel, John Williams took on an entirely new challenge, a historical narrative set in classical Rome, exploring the life of the founder of the Roman Empire. To tell the story, Williams turned to the epistolary novel, a genre that was new to him, transforming and transcending it just as he did the western in Butcher’s Crossing and the campus novel in Stoner. Augustus is the final triumph of a writer who has come to be recognized around the world as an American master.

Augustus

Author: Patricia Southern

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1134589492

Category: History

Page: 378

View: 8407

The first Emperor of Rome holds a perennial fascination for anyone with an interest in the Romans and their Empire. Augustus was a truly remarkable man who brought peace after many years of civil wars and laid the foundations of an Empire that lasted for nearly five centuries. Even today the Roman world still underpins modern society. This revised edition of Augustus incorporates new thinking on many aspects of his rule, and how he achieved such power. The image that he projected of himself and his achievements was benign, hopeful, and heroic, but behind this carefully orchestrated self-promotion he was subtle, clever, scheming and ruthless. He has been labelled as a saviour and as a mafia boss. This account of his life shows how he successfully combined the two extremes.

Augustus

The Biography

Author: Jochen Bleicken

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241003903

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 784

View: 2308

The great modern biography of Augustus, founder of the Roman Empire Born to a plebeian family in 63 BC, Octavian was a young solder training abroad when he heard news of Julius Caesar's brutal assassination - and discovered that he was the dictator's sole political heir. With the opportunism and instinct for propaganda that were to characterize his rule, Octavian rallied huge financial, military and political backing to eliminate his opponents, end the bloody turmoil that had so long wracked Rome and, finally, take autocratic control of a state devoted to republicanism. He became Augustus - Rome's first Emperor, and the founder of the greatest empire the world had ever seen. In this monumental biography, translated into English for the first time by Anthea Bell, Jochen Bleicken tells the story of a man who found himself a demi-god in his own lifetime and paints a portrait of one of the most dramatic periods of Roman history.

The Cambridge Companion to the Age of Augustus

Author: Karl Galinsky

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521807968

Category: Art

Page: 407

View: 8286

The age of Augustus, commonly dated to 30 BC--AD 14, was a pivotal period in world history. A time of tremendous change in Rome, Italy, and throughout the Mediterranean world, many developments were underway when Augustus took charge and a recurring theme is the role that he played in shaping their direction. The Cambridge Companion to the Age of Augustus captures the dynamics and richness of this era by examining important aspects of political and social history, religion, literature, and art and architecture.

Augustus

The First Emperor

Author: Fiona Forsyth

Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780823935888

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 110

View: 6760

Profiles the life and political career of the first Roman emperor, Gaius Julius Caesar Octavius Augustus, and the legacy he left behind for future generations.

Between Republic and Empire

Interpretations of Augustus and His Principate

Author: Kurt A. Raaflaub,Mark Toher

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 9780520084476

Category: History

Page: 495

View: 8383

Representing five major areas of Augustan scholarship--historiography, poetry, art, religion, and politics--the nineteen contributors to this volume bring us closer to a balanced, up-to-date account of Augustus and his principate.

Afterlives of Augustus, AD 14-2014

Author: Penelope J. Goodman

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 110842368X

Category: History

Page: 434

View: 3827

Explores two thousand years of radically changing opinions on the emperor Augustus, and what they reveal about the historical individual.

Augustus

Author: Pat Southern

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 0415166314

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 271

View: 6060

Despite his talent for self-promotion, the character of the emperor Augustus is rarely revealed and as such makes this biography unique in its presentation of Augustus the man. Pat Southern chronologically traces the life, works and times of the emperor, presenting ideology and events from his point of view to provide a compelling depiction of an extraordinary man, who was the guiding light in the transformation of the Roman Republic into the Roman Empire.

The Power of Images in the Age of Augustus

Author: Paul Zanker

Publisher: University of Michigan Press

ISBN: 9780472081240

Category: Architecture

Page: 385

View: 7341

"Art and architecture are mirrors of a society. They reflect the state of its values, especially in times of crisis or transition." Upon this premise Paul Zanker builds an interpretation of Augustan art as a visual language that both expressed and furthered the transformation of Roman society during the rule of Augustus Caesar. The Power of Images in the Age of Augustus illustrates how the establishment of monarchy under Augustus Caesar led to the creation of a new system of visual imagery that reflects the consciousness of this transitional age.

Augustus Caesar

Author: Nancy Zinsser Walworth

Publisher: Chelsea House Pub

ISBN: 9781555468040

Category: History

Page: 111

View: 4515

A biography of the first Roman emperor, under whom Rome achieved great glory.

Poetry and Politics in the Age of Augustus

Author: Tony J. Woodman,Anthony John Woodman,David West

Publisher: CUP Archive

ISBN: 9780521245531

Category: History

Page: 262

View: 654

Augustus

Handlist of the Exhibition and Supplementary Studies

Author: Susan Walker,Andrew Burnett

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Art

Page: 64

View: 4931

Suetonius

Life of Augustus

Author: D. Wardle

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 0199686459

Category: History

Page: 603

View: 4008

Suetonius' Life of Augustus is the most commonly read ancient account of the life of Rome's first emperor, presenting a mass of historical and biographical detail about both his public and personal lives. This volume provides the first large-scale commentary on Suetonius' work in English, drawing out what is unique about Suetonius' information, discussing how it relates to other ancient accounts, and assessing its historical reliability. The commentary is the first to be accessible to readers without any knowledge of Latin or Greek due to its use of English lemmata, while the new translation remains faithful to the original Latin. Accompanied by an introduction which investigates the career of Suetonius, the date of the Lives of the Caesars, the structure of the Life of Augustus, the various sources utilized by Suetonius, and the way in which the reader should approach this complex text, the commentary also looks to examine Suetonius' work not just as a repository of facts, but as a literary artefact carefully constructed by its author.

Chasing Augustus

Author: Kimberly Newton Fusco

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0385754035

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 3519

A sweetly satisfying novel about a girl and her lost dog, perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Holm and Kirby Larson. Rosie’s led a charmed life with her loving dad, who runs the town donut shop. It’s true her mother abandoned them when Rosie was just a baby, but her dad’s all she’s ever needed. But now that her father’s had a stroke, Rosie lives with her tough-as-nails grandfather. And her beloved dog, Gloaty Gus, has just gone missing. Rosie’s determined to find him. With the help of a new friend and her own determination, she’ll follow the trail anywhere . . . no matter where it leads. If she doesn’t drive the whole world crazy in the meantime. Kimberly Newton Fusco’s tender story brings to life a feisty, unsinkable, unstoppable, unforgettable girl who knows she’s a fighter . . . if she can only figure out who’s already on her side. Praise for Kimberly Newton Fusco’s Beholding Bee: “Fans of Kate DiCamillo, Jennifer Holm, and Polly Horvath will find this an enjoyable and engrossing read.” —School Library Journal “[A] really terrific, hopeful story. . . . This could be my favorite middle-grade novel of [the year].” —The Christian Science Monitor “A modern twist on fairy godmothers [with] strong, supportive women who don’t need to provide a Prince Charming to make dreams come true.” —The Horn Book

The republic of Augustus

Author: Guglielmo Ferrero

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Rome

Page: N.A

View: 8318