Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear

Author: Andy Stanton

Publisher: Egmont UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 484

Shabba me whiskers! It’s one of those Mr Gum books by Andy Stanton. They’re only the craziest, funnest most amazing books for children in the world. This is book five. Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear Good evening. Do you like bears called Padlock? Course you do. Do you like hot-air balloons? Course you do. Do you like tall sailing ships with mad sea captains, and horrifying old villains and words like ‘wab!’, ‘tungler’ and ‘kelp’? COURSE you do! Well, guess what, you lucky little nibbleheads? Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams. Have you collected all the well brilliant Mr Gum series? You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire Mr Gum and the Goblins Mr Gum and the Power Crystals Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear What's for Dinner, Mr Gum? Mr Gum and the Cherry Tree Mr Gum and the Secret Hideout Praise for Mr Gum: ‘Smooky palooki! This book is well brilliant!’ – Jeremy Strong ‘Worryingly splendid’ – Guardian NOT FOR BORERS! You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum was selected as a Tom Fletcher Book Club 2017 title. Andy Stanton studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. Before becoming a children’s writer he was a film script reader, a market researcher, an NHS lackey, a part-time sparrow and a grape. Today he is best-known for the hilarious and much-loved Mr Gum books, which are published in 34 countries worldwide in over 30 languages. The series has won numerous awards, including the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Red House Children’s Book Award and two Blue Peter Book Awards.

You're a Bad Man, Mr. Gum!

Author: Andy Stanton

Publisher: Egmont UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 192

View: 875

You're a Bad Man, Mr. Gum was selected as a Tom Fletcher Book Club 2017 title. Shabba me whiskers! It’s that bestselling and award-winning first ever Mr Gum book by Andy Stanton. The Mr Gum books are only the craziest, funniest most best books for children in the whole wide world. Good evening. Mr Gum is a complete horror who hates children, animals, fun and corn on the cob. This book’s all about him. And an angry fairy who lives in his bathtub. And Jake the dog, and a little girl called Polly and an evil, stinky butcher all covered in guts. And there’s heroes and sweets and adventures and EVERYTHING. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams. Have you collected all the well brilliant Mr Gum series? You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire Mr Gum and the Goblins Mr Gum and the Power Crystals Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear What's for Dinner, Mr Gum? Mr Gum and the Cherry Tree Mr Gum and the Secret Hideout Praise for Mr Gum: ‘Smooky palooki! This book is well brilliant!’ – Jeremy Strong ‘Worryingly splendid’ – Guardian NOT FOR BORERS! Andy Stanton studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. Before becoming a children’s writer he was a film script reader, a market researcher, an NHS lackey, a part-time sparrow and a grape. Today he is best-known for the hilarious and much-loved Mr Gum books, which are published in 34 countries worldwide in over 30 languages. The series has won numerous awards, including the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Red House Children’s Book Award and two Blue Peter Book Awards.

Framed

Author: Frank Cottrell-Boyce

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 810

The perfect crime – it's a work of art, in Frank Cottrell Boyce's ingenious story, Framed. Dylan is the only boy living in the tiny Welsh town of Manod. His parents run the Snowdonia Oasis Auto Marvel garage – and when he's not trying to persuade his sisters to play football, Dylan is in charge of the petrol log. And that means he gets to keep track of everyone coming in and out of Manod – what car they drive, what they're called, even their favourite flavour of crisps. But when a mysterious convoy of lorries trundles up the misty mountainside towards an old, disused mine, even Dylan is confounded. Who are these people – and what have they got to hide? A story inspired by a press cutting describing how, during World War II, the treasured contents of London's National Gallery were stored in Welsh slate mines. Once a month, a morale-boosting masterpiece would be unveiled in the village and then returned to London for viewing. This is a funny and touching exploration of how art – its beauty and its value – touches the life of one little boy and his big family in a very small town. This edition of Framed includes bonus material and discussion questions from Frank Cottrell Boyce, and illustrations by Steven Lenton.