A Dream of Italy

Author: Nicky Pellegrino

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 550

'A novel about the joy of learning to live again. It also made me very hungry!' JOJO MOYES on Recipe for Life For sale: historic building in the picturesque town of Montenello, southern Italy. Asking price: 1 Euro Cloudless skies, sun-soaked countryside, delicious food... In the drowsy heat of an Italian summer, four strangers arrive in a beautiful town nestled in the mountains of Basilicata, dreaming of a new adventure. An innovative scheme by the town's Mayor has given them the chance to buy a crumbling historic building for a single Euro - on the condition that they renovate their home within three years, and help to bring new life to the close-knit local community. Elise is desperate to get on the property ladder. Edward wants to escape a life he feels suffocated by. Mimi is determined to start afresh after her divorce. And there's one new arrival whose true motives are yet to be revealed... For each of them, Montenello offers a different promise of happiness. But can they turn their dream of Italy into reality? A deliciously escapist summer read, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.

Dreaming of Italy

Author:

Publisher: W Books

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 128

View: 687

"He tells the story with masterworks by major artists such as Gossaert, Claude Lorrain, Poussin, Corot, Turner and Feuerbach. It starts in the sixteenth century, when artists became interested in studying and documenting the relics of an ancient past. Their seventeenth-century successors were charmed by the beauty of the countryside and the golden glow of the Italian sunlight. The idealized landscapes they produced became the benchmark for many years to conic. In about 1800 a new trend began - open-air painting, which had its birth in Rome. This led to a new way of looking at the landscape. Side by side with this came an interest in the ordinary people with their unquestioning faith. Around 1900, the rearguard of the Italian artistic Grand Tour became filled with a nostalgic longing, as intense as its object was unattainable."--BOOK JACKET.

Dreaming of Italy

Las Vegas and the Virtual Grand Tour

Author: Giovanna Franci

Publisher: University of Nevada Press

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 157

View: 274

In Dreaming of Italy, Giovanna Franci compares three Las Vegas Italian-themed resorts--Caesars Palace, Bellagio, and The Venetian--to their Italian counterparts: the ancient Forum of the Caesars, the breathtaking Lake Como resort town of Bellagio, and eternal Venice, jewel of the Adriatic. Franci not only examines architectural format and decorative details but considers how the mystique of these Italian sites has been transplanted to the Nevada desert. In the process, she addresses the compelling phenomena of modern mass tourism and postmodern travelers to whom the distinction between the real and the fake is often far less important than the appeal of a destination that allows a visitor to make a virtual Grand Tour within the confines of a single city. Franci's perceptive commentary offers unique insights into the trends and intentions behind recent development in Las Vegas. She shows how the builders of these three casinos use architectural language to unite the themes and functions of American consumer culture with the romantic mythology of some of the world's most fantastic oases of pleasure. In this context, Las Vegas emerges as far more than a popular tourist icon. It is rather the first urban spectacle of the postmodern world, a chameleon-like city continuously reinventing itself to offer visitors an unflagging array of experiences, sensations, and hedonistic delights. Federico Zignani's dazzling photographs bring to life the physical details and idyllic ambiance of the lavish Las Vegas resorts and their Italian inspirations.

The Unity of Italy

The American Celebration of the Unity of Italy, at the Academy of Music, New York, Jan. 12, 1871, with the Addresses, Letters, and Comments of the Press

Author: Italy

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Italian question, 1848-1870

Page: 197

View: 334

America, the Dream of My Life

Selections from the Federal Writers' Project's New Jersey Ethnic Survey

Author: David Steven Cohen

Publisher: Rutgers University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 295

View: 896

This selection is the first statewide collection of life histories from the Social-Ethnic Studies program of the Federal Writers's Project. They represent for ethnic history what the more famous Federal Writers' Project's Slave Narratives have meant for African-American history.

Live Your Dream of Italy

Author: Nicky Pellegrino

Publisher: Orion

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 336

View: 887

'A novel about the joy of learning to live again. It also made me very hungry!' JOJO MOYES on Recipe for Life For sale: historic building in the picturesque town of Montenello, southern Italy. Asking price: 1 Euro Cloudless skies, sun-soaked countryside, delicious food... In the drowsy heat of an Italian summer, four strangers arrive in a beautiful town nestled in the mountains of Basilicata, dreaming of a new adventure. An innovative scheme by the town's Mayor has given them the chance to buy a crumbling historic building for a single Euro - on the condition that they renovate their home within three years, and help to bring new life to the close-knit local community. Elise is desperate to get on the property ladder. Edward wants to escape a life he feels suffocated by. Mimi is determined to start afresh after her divorce. And there's one new arrival whose true motives are yet to be revealed... For each of them, Montenello offers a different promise of happiness. But can they turn their dream of Italy into reality? A deliciously escapist summer read, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.

The Dream of Reason

A History of Western Philosophy from the Greeks to the Renaissance

Author: Anthony Gottlieb

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 480

View: 407

Already a classic, this landmark account of early Western thought now appears in a new edition with expanded coverage of the Middle Ages. The Dream of Reason takes a fresh look at the writings of the great thinkers of classic philosophy and questions many pieces of conventional wisdom. The book invites comparison with Bertrand Russell's monumental History of Western Philosophy, "but Gottlieb's book is less idiosyncratic and based on more recent scholarship" (Colin McGinn, Los Angeles Times). A New York Times Notable Book, a Los Angeles Times Best Book, and a Times Literary Supplement Best Book of 2001.

The Dream of the West, Pt II

Author: Brian Lasater

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 600

View: 939

This volume looks at the ancient heritage of Greek philosophy and Mesopotamian astronomy and examines the history of map-making, coastal and celestial navigation and astronomy from 1487-1727.

Networking the Nation

British and American Women's Poetry and Italy, 1840-1870

Author: Alison Chapman

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 304

View: 278

How did nineteenth-century women's poetry shift from the poetess poetry of lyric effusion and hyper-femininity to the muscular epic of Elizabeth Barrett Browning's Aurora Leigh? Networking the Nation re-writes women's poetic traditions by demonstrating the debt that Barrett Browning's revolutionary poetics owed to a circle of American and British women poets living in Florence and campaigning in their poetry and in their salons for Italian Unification. These women poets—Isa Blagden, Elizabeth Kinney, Eliza Ogilvy, and Theodosia Garrow Trollope—formed with Barrett Browning a network of poetry, sociability, and politics, which was devoted to the mission of campaigning for Italy as an independent nation state. In their poetic experiments with the active lyric voice, in their forging of a transnational persona through the periodical press, in their salons and spiritualist séances, the women poets formed a network that attempted to assert and perform an independent unified Italy in their work. Networking the Nation maps the careers of these expatriate women poets who were based in Florence in the key years of Risorgimento politics, racing their transnational social and print communities, and the problematic but schismatic shift in their poetry from the conventional sphere of the poetess. In the fraught and thrilling engagement with their adopted nation's revolutionary turmoil, and in their experiments with different types of writing agency, the women poets in this book offer revolutions of other kinds: revolutions of women's poetry and the very act of writing.